Morning Dew - Goth mix #2

Blogger has been notified, according to the terms of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA), that certain content in your blog is alleged to infringe upon the copyrights of others. As a result, we have reset the post(s) to "draft" status. (If we did not do so, we would be subject to a claim of copyright infringement, regardless of its merits. The URL(s) of the allegedly infringing post(s) may be found at the end of this message.) This means your post - and any images, links or other content - is not gone. You may edit the post to remove the offending content and republish, at which point the post in question will be visible to your readers again.

1. New Order - Dreams Never End
2. Lords of the New Church - Russian Roulette
3. Theatre of Hate - Do you Believe in the Westworld
4. Cocteau Twins - Hazel (bbc version)
5. Cranes - Starblood
6. Tones on Tail - Twist
7. Southern Death Cult - Moya
8. Einstürzende Neubauten - Morning Dew
9. Soft Cell - Little Rough Rhinestone
10. The Wolfgang Press - Heart of Stone
11. Echo & the Bunnymen - In Bluer Skies
12. Specimen - Beauty of Poison
13. Ramones - Pet Cemetery
14. Current 93 - The Summer of Love
15. Lavern Baker - Voodoo Voodoo
16. Exuma - The Obeah Man
17. Death in June - The Calling
18. Joy Division - Atmosphere
19. Coil - A Cold Cell

(re-uploaded 4/9/09)

Romeo's Distress - Goth mix #1

download part 1
download part 2

1. Christian Death - Romeo’s Distress
2. Sex Gang Children - Mauritia Mayer
3. Xmal Deutschland - Matador
4. Clan of Xymox - Muscoviet Musquito
5. Death in June - She Said Destroy
6. Joy Division - Something Must Break
7. The Boys Next Door - Shivers
8. Bauhaus - The Passion of Lovers
9. The Cure - Charlotte Sometimes
10. Lowlife - Eternity Road
11. Christian Death - When I was Bed
12. Siouxsie & the Banshees - Love in a Void
13. The Birthday Party - Mr. Clarinet
14. Cindytalk - Circle of Shit
15. Love & Rockets - Haunted When the Minutes Drag
16. The Shangri-Las - I’ll Never Learn
17. Sisters of Mercy - This Corrosion
18. And Also the Trees - House of the Heart
19. Dead can Dance - Ocean
20. Virgin Prunes - Pagan Lovesong

(re-uploaded 4/9/09)


4AD #3

download part 1
download part 2

1. Colin Newman - We Means We Starts
2. Sort Sol - Marble Station
3. Rema-Rema - Rema Rema
4. Throwing Muses - Call Me
5. Lisa Germano - Trouble
6. Lisa Germano - Energy
7. Colin Newman - Truculent Yet
8. Shox - No Turning Back
9. Frazier Chorus - Typical
10. The Birthday Party - Happy Birthday
11. The Wolfgang Press - The Great Leveller
12. Psychotic Tanks - Security Idiots
13. Bearz - She’s My Girl
14. Cocteau Twins - From the Flagstones
15. Colourbox - Philip Glass
16. Tarnation - Game of Broken Hearts
17. Throwing Muses - Cry Baby Cry
18. Mojave 3 - My Life in Art
19. Colin Newman - Fish One
20. Gus Gus - Is Jesus Your Pal?
21. Le Mystère des Voix Bulgares - Kalimankou Denkou
22. The Fast Set - Juntion 1 (edit titled “The Beginning is the End”)


for Sean

One Of Our Girls Has Gone Missing (single version).mp3

A.C. Marias - One of Our Girls Has Gone Missing

A.C. Marias "one of our girls has gone missing" album

download mp3s

as a bonus i included her cover of "Vicious" which was originally the bside of the "one of our girls has gone missing" single.
you'll also find her two singles "Time Was" and "Just Talk" on the album up for download here.

A.C. Marias - One of Our Girls

A.C. Marias - Just Talk

A.C. Marias - Time Was

"Angela Conway (Marias is her Catholic middle name) made her first recordings in the company of Bruce Gilbert and Graham Lewis, sometime in 1978. She maintained working links with the Wire duo into the '80's, releasing a seven inch single called 'Drop' on their Dome label, and forming with them the semi-legendary P'O, who explored an experimental approach to melody on their 'Whilst Climbing Thieves Vie For Attention' album of 1984.

Described by the chanteuse as "music to disappear to", the first AC Marias single 'Just Talk', a collaboration between Angela and Bruce, appeared on Mute in September 1986. She described herself enigmatically as an "ex-babysitter, ex-girl, ex-traitor, on a mission to subvert the cretinous, moronic message of today's music," a statement she partially de-coded in a Melody Maker interview: "Ex-traitor I thought was quite funny, cos there's no such thing. Betrayal, whether it's personal or political, sticks with you always. The ex-babysitter has two meanings: looking after somebody els''s kids, obviously, but it's also spy slang for heavies who look after the defector in the safe house. I used to read that kind of John Le Carré spy fiction. I like the jargon. It's intriguing."

Duality was a notion constantly explored in her work. "I like the fact that there's this undercurrent of something not quite right underneath the beauty," she said of her music. "Strange noises underneath all the dreamy sounds."

The next AC Marias release was the single 'Time Was', a cover of a little known Canned Heat track, on which Angela was ably assisted by Barry Adamson, Bruce Gilbert and Rowland S Howard. "This one lets all the ghosts run wild," enthused Sounds. "Ms. Marias sings the lyric with a choirgirl's unblemished tranquility while all around Bruce Gilbert and Rowland S Howard spread a terrible wailing wall of slide guitars." "Everything I do is ambiguous, but simple," considered Conway. "It's not cryptic or precious."

Still she continued to engage and enthral. Whilst maintaining a parallel career as a video director, Angela set about creating an album in which to spread out her net of intrigue. On 'One Of Our Girls (Has Gone Missing)' she and Bruce created a world of aural shadows and light, flickering mysteries that conveyed the stealth and intent of the true subversive. "Disappearance can be quite a powerful thing," Conway said of the title track, and later single. "To not be present can be more powerful than actually being present and proclaiming your identity as 'woman'. That can be quite rigid, which is why people often say they don't want to be categorised, because it can be confining." Similarly, with the suggestive washes of music, she was achieving more without stating the obvious: "It can defeat the object, if you just blast something out. That can become just as familiar and bland as anything." Sounds' album reviewed concurred: "These dreams are ultimately more terrifying since their ambient gentility conceals faceless fears, and terrors which have no name."

A final single, 'One Of Our Girls Has Gone Missing' followed in February 1990, and was an instant Single Of The Week in Melody Maker, whose Simon Reynolds enthused: "'One Of Our Girls' is thinnest air, at once sumptuous and austere: the kind of rarefied and confounding experience we'd ceased hoping from pop these days." It was coupled with a playful rework of Lou Reed's 'Vicious', assisted by The Mute Drivers. After which, leaving listeners with the "She's gone!" end refrain of the A-side playing out in their heads, AC Marias disappeared from view."